No Place Like Home (NPLH) Alternative Process County Allocation Program – California Department of Housing and Community Development
Deadline: Ongoing
Who is Eligible

The Counties of Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco, and Santa Clara.

What it Funds

Deferred payment loans for the development of permanent supportive housing for persons living with a serious mental illness who are chronically homeless, homeless, or at-risk of chronic homelessness. Funds may be used to acquire, design, construct, rehabilitate, or preserve permanent supportive housing, which may include a capitalized operating subsidy reserve.

When to Apply

HCD will award funds to the Counties of Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco, and Santa Clara by February 2021, as long as conditions of the NPLH program are met. Thereafter, these Counties will announce regional award requirements and deadlines, if applicable, at a date to be determined.

Available Funds

$14.6 million (2020). Refer to pg. 3 of the program guidelines for the funding allocation amounts by eligible county.

Award Size

Small, Medium, and Large

Level of Effort to Apply

To be determined


The most recent award list available is from FY 2019-2020, where 11 applicants were awarded funding under the competitive allocation program.